CBD can increase the effectiveness of antibiotics

A new study has shown that the cannabis cannabinoid CBD helps fight resistant bacteria by improving the effectiveness of antibiotics.

Scientists at the University of Southern Denmark have published a new study in the journal Scientific Reports that shows how CBD can act as a "helper compound" to improve the effectiveness of antibiotics.

Since the discovery of penicillin by Sir Alexander Fleming in 1928, antibiotics have saved millions of lives worldwide from deadly infections. Over time, however, bacteria have developed mechanisms to escape the effects of antibiotics and have become resistant to them.

 

Increase the effect of antibiotics

Due to increasing antibiotic resistance, new alternative strategies are being investigated and certain "helper compounds" are attracting attention. Helper compounds are non-antibiotic compounds with the ability to improve the effectiveness of antibiotics.

It is suspected that one such helper compound is cannabidiol (CBD); a cannabinoid from the cannabis plant.

 

Study

Research by a team from the University of Southern Denmark has shown that the cannabis compound cannabidiol (CBD) can act as a helper compound to increase the effectiveness of antibiotics against drug-resistant Gram-positive bacteria.

A study led by Janne Kudsk Klitgaard, PhD, Associate Professor of Clinical Microbiology, found that the combination of CBD with the antibiotic bacitracin (BAC) has a stronger effect against bacteria including Staphylococcus aureus than BAC alone.

Less resistances

"Based on these observations, it is suggested that the combination of CBD and BAC represents a putative novel treatment in clinical settings for the treatment of infections with antibiotic-resistant Gram-positive bacteria," the researchers stated in their article published in Scientific Reports.

Bacterial clones are spreading worldwide.

In the study, CBD was used to enhance the effect of the antibiotic bacitracin against Staphylococcus aureus bacteria, an important human pathogen that causes diseases often transmitted in hospitals.

Multiresistant clones of this pathogen have spread worldwide. In some countries the treatment of bacterial infections with these resistant bacteria is difficult and the problem is expected to increase.

According to the researchers, the combination of CBD and antibiotics could represent a novel treatment for infections with antibiotic-resistant bacteria.

How do the bacteria die?

Three things happened to the Staphylococcus aureus bacteria when the researchers treated them with the combination in their study The bacteria could no longer divide normally, the expression of certain key genes (cell division and autolysis genes) in the bacteria was reduced and the bacterial membrane became unstable.

According to the researchers, excessive use of antibiotics is the main cause of antibiotic resistance.

Janne Kudsk Klitgaard said: "If we combine an antibiotic with a helper compound that enhances the effect of the antibiotic, we need fewer antibiotics to achieve the same effect. This can help to develop less resistant bacteria. “

Next articleCBD and dementia

Stay in contact

Stay up to date. 2-3 times a month you will receive exciting news and great product recommendations from our editorial team by subscribing to our newsletter.

Related articles

en_USEnglish

CBD kann die Wirksamkeit von Antibiotika erhöhen

Eine neue Studie hat gezeigt, dass das Cannabis-Cannabinoid CBD zur Bekämpfung resistenter Bakterien beiträgt, indem es die Wirksamkeit von Antibiotika verbessert.

Wissenschaftler der University of Southern Denmark haben in der Zeitschrift Scientific Reports eine neue Studie veröffentlicht, die zeigt, wie CBD als „Helferverbindung“ zur Verbesserung der Wirksamkeit von Antibiotika wirken kann.

Seit der Entdeckung von Penicillin im Jahr 1928 durch Sir Alexander Fleming haben Antibiotika weltweit Millionen von Menschenleben vor tödlichen Infektionen gerettet. Mit der Zeit haben Bakterien jedoch Mechanismen entwickelt, um den Wirkungen von Antibiotika zu entkommen, und sind gegen diese resistent geworden.

 

Wirkung von Antibiotika erhöhen

Aufgrund der zunehmenden Antibiotikaresistenz werden neue, alternative Strategien untersucht und bestimmte „Helferverbindungen“ ziehen die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich. Helferverbindungen sind nicht-antibiotische Verbindungen mit der Fähigkeit, die Wirksamkeit von Antibiotika zu verbessern.

Es wird vermutet, dass eine solche Helferverbindung Cannabidiol (CBD) ist; ein Cannabinoid aus der Cannabispflanze.

 

Studie

Untersuchungen eines Teams der Universität von Süddänemark haben ergeben, dass die Cannabisverbindung Cannabidiol (CBD) als Helferverbindung wirken kann, um die Wirksamkeit von Antibiotika gegen arzneimittelresistente grampositive Bakterien zu steigern.

Eine Studie unter der Leitung von Janne Kudsk Klitgaard, PhD, außerordentlicher Professor für klinische Mikrobiologie, ergab, dass die Kombination von CBD mit dem Antibiotikum Bacitracin (BAC) eine stärkere Wirkung gegen Bakterien einschließlich Staphylococcus aureus hat als BAC allein.

Weniger Resistenzen

„Basierend auf diesen Beobachtungen wird vorgeschlagen, dass die Kombination von CBD und BAC eine mutmaßliche neuartige Behandlung in klinischen Umgebungen zur Behandlung von Infektionen mit antibiotikaresistenten grampositiven Bakterien darstellt“, erklärten die Forscher in ihrem in Scientific Reports veröffentlichten Artikel.

Bakterienklone verbreiten sich weltweit.

In der Studie wurde CBD verwendet, um die Wirkung des Antibiotikums Bacitracin gegen Staphylococcus aureus-Bakterien zu verstärken, ein wichtiger menschlicher Erreger, der häufig im Krankenhaus übertragene Krankheiten verursacht.

Multiresistente Klone dieses Pathogens haben sich weltweit verbreitet. In einigen Ländern ist die Behandlung von bakteriellen Infektionen mit diesen resistenten Bakterien schwierig, und das Problem wird voraussichtlich weiter zunehmen.

Laut den Forschern könnte die Kombination von CBD und Antibiotika eine neuartige Behandlung von Infektionen mit antibiotikaresistenten Bakterien darstellen.

Wie sterben die Bakterien ab?

Drei Dinge geschahen mit den Staphylococcus aureus-Bakterien, als die Forscher sie mit der Kombination in ihrer Studie behandelten: Die Bakterien konnten sich nicht mehr normal teilen, die Expression bestimmter Schlüsselgene (Zellteilungs- und Autolysegene) in den Bakterien wurde verringert und die Bakterienmembran wurde instabil.

Laut den Forschern ist der übermäßige Einsatz von Antibiotika die Hauptursache für Antibiotikaresistenzen.

Janne Kudsk Klitgaard sagte: „Wenn wir ein Antibiotikum mit einer Helferverbindung kombinieren, die die Wirkung des Antibiotikums verstärkt, benötigen wir weniger Antibiotika, um den gleichen Effekt zu erzielen. Dies kann zur Entwicklung weniger resistenter Bakterien beitragen. “

Nächster ArtikelCBD und Demenz

In Kontakt bleiben

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden. Durch die Eintragung in unseren Newsletter erhalten Sie 2‑3x pro Monat spannende News und tolle Produktempfehlungen von unserer Redaktion.

Ähnliche Artikel

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch